Gluten free beef jerky? Is there gluten in beef jerky? Most beef jerky does contain gluten. People are often surprised that soy sauce, one of the major ingredients in beef jerky marinades contain gluten.
Beef jerky can be made gluten free, most commonly by substituting soy sauce for tamari sauce, a popular gluten free substitute. There are many other gluten free soy sauce substitutes to use, but gluten free alternatives are generally much higher in cost and so when manufacturing jerky, this can result in paying a higher consumer price for your jerky that is made gluten free. If your diet avoids gluten completely, the effect of following a gluten-free diet can be costly. Some people such as those with Celiac Disease and gluten sensitivity are forced to follow a gluten free diet.
Following a completely gluten free diet is difficult because so many common foods contain gluten. Most people think of bread as the primary source of gluten. However, gluten, a protein found in most grains is a common ingredient in beer, cookies, cereals, french fries, gravies, processed lunch meats, pastas, potato chips, corn chips, crackers, hot dogs, soups and more. Over the counter and prescription medications often use gluten as a binder.
Gluten free jerky often means a sacrifice of flavor, or even when the flavor is good, there is still a slight difference in taste. Over the years some major brands of beef jerky have gone to completely gluten free products. Jeff’s Famous Jerky focuses heavily on flavor, so we chose to simply expand our gluten free jerky offerings rather than sacrifice any quality by eliminating popular flavors.
Jeff’s Famous Jerky offers these popular gluten free flavors: